14 December, 2006

First Intercepted Spam

Posted in Content-lite, Milestones at 3:34 pm by Daran

Hot on the heels of my first search engine hit, my first Akismet-intercepted spam message, telling me that “google.com” is the best search engine. I’ve noticed a lot of spam recently purportedly for “google.com” over at Creative Destruction.

I don’t think Google is really spamming. I can think of two explanations for it.

1. The spammer is testing software, spamming strategies or blog defences.

2. The spammed URL isn’t “google.com” at all, but one or more of the letters has been replaced by a visually identical character.

Leave a Reply

